Wheat Free Info

Wheat Free Survival Guide

We at Canton Center Chiropractic Clinic would like to help all of our friends and patients who are working to improve their health by avoiding or reducing the amount of wheat and/or gluten in their diets. Please feel free to contribute recipes or helpful tips by emailing cantoncenterchiropractic@yahoo.com.

Check out Award Winning Gluten Free Products:


Wheat Free Resources

Wheat Free Articles:

Products We Liked

These are products our staff has tried and liked!
  • Natures Path – Crispy Rice Bars
  • Glutino Products – Cookies, Mixes, Crackers
  • Bob’s Red Mill – Gluten Free Mixes and flour
  • Namaste – Baking Mixes
  • Nana’s – Cookie Bars
  • Erewhon – Whole Grain Cereals
  • Mrs. Leeper’s – Pastas
  • Newman’s Own Organics – Fig Newmans, Cookies
  • Arrowhead Mills – Brownie Mix
  • Kinnikinnick – Frozen Breads, Cookies
  • Pamela’s – “All products are excellent!”
  • Rumi's Passion

Stores We Shopped At

The following is a list of stores where our staff has had success finding wheat-free or gluten-free products. There are many stores that feature a wheat/gluten-free product area, or that have made resources available for customers. These are simply our favorites.
  • Meijer
  • Kroger
  • Hiller’s Markets
  • Whole Foods
  • Trader Joe’s
  • Holiday Market
  • Zerbo’s
  • Better Health
  • Pamela's Products Online (through Amazon.com)
  • Rumi's Passion Gluten Free Bakery

Frequently Asked Questions

  • What are the symptoms of a Wheat Allergy?
    Allergic reactions to wheat usually begin within minutes or a few hours after eating or inhaling wheat. Common symptoms involve the skin (hives, eczema, swelling), the gastrointestinal tract (abdominal cramps, nausea, vomiting), or the respiratory tract (asthma, allergic rhinitis).
  • How is a Wheat Allergy diagnosed?
    The diagnosis may be easy if the person has the same reaction repeatedly after eating foods which contain wheat. More often, the diagnosis is difficult because wheat is consumed with other foods. An elimination-challenge test may be employed to make the diagnosis. Ask the doctor if you should be tested.
  • What is the difference between Celiac Disease and a Wheat Allergy?
    Celiac disease and a wheat allergy are two distinct conditions. Celiac disease, or Celiac Sprue, is a permanent adverse reaction to the gluten found in wheat and other grains. Those with Celiac disease will not lose their sensitivity to this substance. This disease requires a lifelong restriction of gluten from the diet. The major grains which contain gluten are wheat, rye, oats, and barley. These grains and their by-products must be strictly avoided.
    Wheat Allergic people have an IgE-mediated response to wheat protein. These individuals should avoid wheat, but it is possible that the allergy is only temporary. Most wheat-allergic children outgrow the allergy.
  • Are Kamut and Spelt safe alternatives to wheat?
    NO! Kamut is a cereal grain related to wheat. Spelt is an ancient form of wheat that has recently been marketed as “safe for wheat-allergic individuals”. However, a wheat-allergic person can react as readily to spelt as they do to common wheat.
  • Why the increase in wheat and gluten intolerances?
    As reported in a series of articles: “The Dark Side of Wheat”, another component called Wheat Lectin plays a critical role in human disease. It is a powerful little chemical in wheat known as “wheat germ agglutin” (WGA) that is responsible for many of wheat’s ill effects. Significant progress has been made in exposing wheat’s dark side in the past decade with most focus on gluten. What is unique about WGA glycoprotein is that it can do direct damage to the majority of tissues in humans without requiring a specific set of weaknesses or allergic responses. This may explain chronic inflammatory and degenerative conditions in wheat consuming populations without obvious allergic reaction or intolerances. Nature engineers in all species defensive mechanisms against predators. Seeds of the grass family, i.e. wheat, spelt, rye, have innate immunity through glycoproteins known as lectins. Lectins are glycoproteins which through thousands of years of breeding wheat for higher protein content has increased the WGA concentration which again is nature’s way of protecting the plant. Fungi and bacteria’s cell walls incorporate a polymer of N-Acetylglucosamine. In animals, including humans, N-Acetylglucosamine is secreted in epithelial cells which line all the mucus membranes in the body (nasal passages to gut linings to blood vessel linings). Nature has designed WGA to attach to, disrupt and gain entry through these mucosal surfaces.
    The following is a list of ways that WGA may deplete our health:
    1. May be Pro-inflammatory
    2. May be Immunotoxic
    3. May be Neurotoxic
    4. May disrupt endocrine function
    5. May be cardiotoxic
    6. May adversely affect gastrointestinal function
    7. May share pathogenic similarities with certain virus
    Reference: The Dark Side of Wheat: New Perspectives on Celiac Disease and Wheat Intolerance

Tips & Tricks from the Staff

  • Plenty of Other Food to Choose: Eat more vegetables, fruit, fish, eggs, meat, dairy and nuts. They are all wheat-free. Shop the perimeter of your grocery store; in most cases, the freshest food is located there. Substitute vegetables for pasta, example, spaghetti squash instead of spaghetti noodles with your marinara sauce.
  • Read Labels Carefully: If it comes in a package and is man-made, you must read the label. If you are not sure of the ingredients or the ingredients are not listed, do not eat it. Many foods have wheat added. Wheat flour is sometimes flavored and shaped to look like beef, pork, and shrimp, especially in Asian dishes. Look Carefully!
    The following label ingredients indicate the presence of wheat proteins: bread crumbs, bran, cereal extract, couscous, cracker meal, enriched flour, gluten, high-gluten flour, high-protein flour, semolina wheat, vital gluten, wheat bran, wheat germ, wheat malt, wheat starch, whole wheat flour, gelatinized starch, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, modified food starch, modified starch, natural flavoring, soy sauce, starch, vegetable starch, vegetable gum.
  • Avoid ANY Grains that Contain GLUTEN! Wheat free labeled food does not necessarily mean gluten free. They may contain other grains that are not gluten free. These include barley, bran, bulgur, cereal, couscous, dinkle, durum, einkorn, edible starch, emmer, Farina®, flour, food starch, fu, gliadin, gluten, gluten peptides, glutenin, graham flour, grits, hulls, kamut, matzah, mir, oats, prolamin, rye, seitan, semolina, spelt, triticale, wheat berry, wheat grass, wheat nut.
  • Remember Moderation: Just because you are eating a wheat-free pasta, bread, cookie, cracker, etc doesn’t mean low calorie or low carbohydrate. Be aware of your calorie intake and portion control.
  • For Better Texture: You can grind other forms of flour to a finer powder using a small coffee grinder.
  • Simple Substitutions: Try using rice noodles or spaghetti squash to substitute in pasta dishes.
  • Time Saver: Buy a ready-made rice or bean flour from the health food store! It saves time and packages often include more recipes to try. You can also make up your own flour substitutes in bulk. This not only cuts down on costs, but it will save you time later.

Restaurant Survival Tips

  • If possible, choose a restaurant where you won’t be tempted to eat wheat items. Don’t go to your favorite pasta place if you know you will want to order pasta!
  • Salad Bars and Mongolian-Style BBQs are nice because you can choose exactly what goes onto your plate. However, be careful of sauces containing wheat! This is especially true in Asian Cuisine.
  • Order menu items such as salads, meats, steamed vegetables, and rice, which are naturally wheat-free.
  • Ask for sauces to be excluded, or ask for a wheat-free alternative. Some places offer lemon or herb sauces which are wheat-free and Vinegar & Oil is always a delicious wheat-free salad dressing.
  • Ask them NOT to bring out bread with your meal. Don’t even tempt yourself!
  • Replace wheat-containing side dishes with vegetables or rice.
  • Ask the waiter what options are available, many places are happy to prepare special plates for those with food allergies. Our staff has often asked for a full plate of steamed vegetables, and chef’s are usually able to help. Look at the menu and find any items that are wheat-free and ask if they could be combined into one meal!
  • Most restaurants have a nutrition facts brochure, or ingredients listing available upon request. (Some have it available on their website.) Ask your waiter for a copy while you are ordering. Wheat free items are often indicated.
  • Living Without Magazine publishes a list of all restaurants in the country that cater to special dietary needs. You can order the Dining Card through their website (see links above).

Free Phone Consultation

* Indicates required questions
Name *
First Last
Email *
Phone # *
Message *
Enter code in image:
Testimonials - Canton Center Chiropractic Clinic - success